• Welcome to Deep Waters Relationship Advice. Please login or sign up.

Is This a Phase or Pattern?

Started by Novelist, February 10, 2006, 10:49:19 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Novelist

Does bad relationships define that I am not good at attaining good relationships?  What about my relation to men?  Most of the time, I cannot recall having a good relationship or friendship with someone; partcularly men, it resulted in intimacy most times.  Looking at myself, I think that I am not valuing myself because out of all my times of dating, it went downhill and from there, my social life with others has been inconsistent.  Does it mean that I have a serious problem and will need to seek help?  Of course, I have good sense, yet I am lacking something in the way I relate to people and I find myself hiding imperfections, wanting them to like me.  I know that I have to be who I am with faults and all, but it is hard sometimes because no one seem to gravitate to me the way I would like. 

tanya72

no bad relationships does not define a pattern nor the person. my spiritual counselor suggest that you make a must have/do list with 5 things that are not negotiable... either the man is that or has it that you desire no exceptions....when you compromise and accept lower than your standards thats where the problems start....Also I cannot stress the importance of abstaining from intimacy and sexual relations.....starving the flesh in this area, opens your eyes and heart to get to know someone on a deeper level that does not have lust lurking around....always 1st,.love and care for yourself. be yourself, stop wearing the mask around people, allow them to see and know you and either accept you or reject you but never change you......  also dont spend alot of time with single friends crying woes is me, I dont have anyone. this creates an atmoshphere of desperation. cause you dont want to cry the same song.

Hope these words worked for ya!

Novelist