• Welcome to Deep Waters Relationship Advice. Please login or sign up.

April 30, 2024, 07:06:23 am

I'm Soo Tired!

Started by SeekingTruth, December 18, 2006, 10:10:44 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

SeekingTruth

This is a first so I am not sure if I am in the right place.

I know there are many who bash the clergy and are negative - some deserving and many not.  I am new to the clergy; however, I've become a bit discouraged by the present day teachings.

With the sudden "onslaught" in the past few years of prophets, bishops and apostles I am noticing that the teachings are pushing believers/congregants to focus more attention on the words that come from them and connect to the them more than focusing on connecting with and to Jesus Christ. 

I am hearing of people being asked to do things because the prophet says to and to trust the word because a prophet says so.  I've heard some say, in teaching that you should bless your pastors even to when it hurts, that if you give a cup of water to a prophet in the name of a prophet, you will surely receive a prophet's reward.  However, I somehow read that scripture differently.  Can someone help with this one?

I've heard recently of a prophet/pastor who told his congregation that everything they need comes from him who received from God.  IS IT ME OR WHAT???? 

I've also heard recently of a Pastor who told his church that even if he continues to have accidents with the new car that they have purchased for him (they take on the monthly car note and insurance payments), which causes the insurance to increase, they should bear the pains of the extra burden because they are doing it to be a blessing to their pastor and God will bless them.