• Welcome to Deep Waters Relationship Advice. Please login or sign up.

After 8 years, suddenly remember ex-love. WHY??

Started by magega, February 09, 2005, 03:24:40 am

Previous topic - Next topic

magega

The painful background:  After a 7 year relationship and one month before we were to marry my first real girlfriend we broke up - in the end, she believed she would not be happy.  It was a most difficult time for me, often unbearable to sustain, it was a terrible.  Took me a long time, 4 years, to move on with my life.  Throughout that time I often remembered this relationship.  Most often reliving, I mean reliving with the same or augmented intensity, the most painful moments, the breakup times, etc.  It was very, very sad. 

Hope and love returns: Thankfully in during those 4 years of recovery I finished my master's, which for a while I gave up, and found a new love, my now wife.  Then an overseas assignment further helped me along, achieving something I'd always wanted.  It was not easy for me nor did I make it easy for her (my now wife).  Nevertheless, we made it through.

Marriage:  After three years of living together (something I'd never would have done before! But which probably would have helped my ex and I), we married and now it is five years later. How time has flown by.  We are happy, though I guess as many we've had our moments. Yet we stay together, through thick and thin.  Mostly, I'd have to say that she puts up with all my weaknesses.  How lucky I am.

Today:  My wife is visiting out of the country her family.  I too was with her for the holidays but returned for work.  But now we've been apart for one month and she won't be back for another three weeks.  Last week, she had surgery over there and thankfully all is well and she is doing fine. Lucky for us that in her family could look after her day and night, something I could not have done here.  I was worried nevertheless.